Today I wad asked, between the top nominee of movies of the year, which movie would reference your life?

There were a few movie titles, but I haven’t watched them all, some I did, but not all. And the movie I choose was “The Help”

The Help was based on the era were slavery was enforced. Where the only job a colored person found wad to be a maid. They would barely get paid the minimum and they were expected to do everything with no questions. This was also during the era where a female who wanted a career instead of a husband was thought of as weird. In this story, a white  woman, wanted to be a journalist but she wanted to write about something meaningful, something memorable. She finally got the opportunity when she decided that she wanted to write a book about life “in the life of the maid.” During this time, this was considered a big scandal, because blacks weren’t allowed to have opinions, let alone speak to a white person out of term, especially about other white folks.

At the end of the movie, this book became a best seller, because you finally got to understand what the other side went through. You were able to see that not everything was as black and white as people made it to seem, but it was in fact, a community of people with secrets. As a viewer, you learn to sympathsize with the characters and you remember to put your life in their shoes. You realize that not everything is as simple as it seems, but that it is much more complicated than that.

Yes I write, but if given the opportunity to tell my entire story without the worry of censoring because of my audience, I think a lot more people would understand my life more instead of being soquick to judge. I expressed in one of my previous blogs, that the girl I was when I was 16 has disappeared. That’s not the girl I am anymore, but because that is all people knew me as, that’s all they choose to believe I am. I think if a random white woman decided to write a story about the single mom with a fucked up past, and they see the woman that I have transformed into noe, not that people would sympathsize but people would finally get to understand me. They would finally understand the choices I make and the logic behind them. Granted some may not agree with them, but at least they will understand as opposed to being turfiest to judge me.

I know one of the things I always get judged on is my parenting skills. I know people doubt my ability to be a parent but you know what? Nobody is perfect, and at least I’m trying. I try to be their for my son all the tine, and to show him the right way. I try to teach my son right from wrong, and I also try to be a good role model, somebody that he can look up to and not be embarrassed to call his mother. I know I’m not perfect, but I try to pretend to be for his sake. If there was a book written about me, hopefully people would understand why i make the decisions I do, because my son always confess first, even though it may not stern like it to the naked eye, but he does!

