I’ve always believed myself to be a spiritual person. I actually see the best in most people. I think that’s a great trait in a person, and especially one that I love in myself.

Yes we all have our evil side, yes sometimes we wish we can be better, but you just gotta take life as it comes. I’ve had a lot of bad shit happen in my life, as well as some good shit. Everything has always balanced out for me, and I’m thankful that I am a strong person.

The holiday seasons are right around the corner, my love for everything has increased so much more and my patience has grown so much more as well.

For some reason, today, out of all days, I feel inspired to write. If you look at the date, Decemeber 19th, it reminds me of 2 years ago to date. My house caught fire, and I lost everything. People who have didn’t even know me, helped me out and reached out to me and donated small things. Those small things made a big difference to someone who had nothing. I cried tears of joy because life finally made sense. After the fire, everything was looking up for me. Everything started falling into place. I was blessed at 21, to understand the generosity and love of strangers. And now, 2 years later, I can be that person to someone else.

I chose my profession to work in customer service 6 years ago, because I felt that I could change someone’s life. Whether it was with a smile or just by simply helping them by answering a question. What people don’t realze, or what we fail to understand, is that humans are simple folks. It takes only one person to change a life.

Today at my job, a lady came in to and I saw her crying. I asked her how I could help her, and she kept refusing my help. Its 30 degrees outside, and she had a small bag. She said this was her first time in New York and that she had flown in from Florida. She was sad because she sold her car, in which she was living in for a month, to come to NY to realize that the living expenses were far greater than the $1000 she had in her pocket. I gave her a nice cup of hot chocolate and some tissues, and she poured her heart out to me. She flew to NY on a wim because she was tired of failing her life in Flordia, she was just unsure of what her next step in life would be. I offered her some food, and fresh towels, and when she left, I started looking online for some afforable temporary living arrangements for her. I printed out almost 50 pages online, of shelters, homes, hostels she could stay in that provided food for her as well. I printed out some ads online for places that hired right on the spot. I called her, and I asked if she had eaten yet, and she said no, so I offered her half of my lunch that I bought from home, and I gave her the pamplet. I’m sure she didn’t want everyone in her business so I bought her to the side and explained all the options she had while she was out here, and not to be ashamed of asking for help. I gave her access to the wifi that my job provides, and I even extended her stay by a few hours. Those tears of sadness and the feeling of being overwhelmed, quickly transformed into tears of gratitude and appreciation.

Seeing her tears broke my heart, and I felt the need to console her. I wanted to reach out to her and tell her that everything was going to be ok. She looked at me and cried and said thank you.

Sometimes a simple thank you is everything you need.

It reminded me to be humble in my life, to not take the little things for granted, and to appreciate all the little things. It bought me back to the fire, when I was forced to be humble and I was forced to ask for help.

its the little things in life that remind you how important your life really is….

Ttyl ❤

