This is my first vacation ever to myself.

I’ve always gone out with other people. Whether it was my mother and sister, or my aunt and grandparents, and I’ve even gone on vacation with my boyfriend turned husband. And when our son was born, I went on vacation just the 3 of us.

This is my FIRST. EVER. SOLITARY. VACATION.

Yes, its a big deal.

I am 23 years old, and I’ve never truly left the comfort of NY without the comfort of my own family.

About 2 years ago, my best friend had come to me with this crazy idea that she wanted to move to Georgia. It was just a thought, nothing set in stone. Her mother was against it, but I encouraged her to go. There comes a point in your life in where you have to be selfish, NY was not going to provide her this selfish behavior, because she would constantly be living to others expecations.

So, just like that, she moved.

She made a life for herself, and she makes me so proud of the independent, individual she has grown to be.

Every summer, and every winter holiday, she finds herself back home. And we pick up our lives as if there was never a pause between us. We spend most of our time together and with each other’s families.

Not only is this girl my best friend, she’s my sister. My entire family treats her like one of ours, and her family treats me as one of theirs.

She has bugged me to go visit her, and I always said I would go. But the truth is, I didn’t want to go without my husband. I knew if I left without him, I would not trust myself to ‘not have fun.’ So I never went. I never put myself in that situation.

When me and Harts broke up (that seems to be the repitive phrase I keep using when I speak of my ‘new’ life) I promised my best friend (wifey lol) that I would visit her. I saved up my hard earned dollars, I freed up my schedule, I made arrangements for the baby to be watched, and I booked my train ticket out of NY and into Savannah, Georgia.

So here I am. On the train: Amtrak, on my way to Georgia.

I procrastinated this day for so long. During Harts Time (DH) I would’ve packed all my shit & all of his shit into one luggage and all of our son’s shit into a duffel bag. I would’ve had this done at least a week prior to our departure. And here I was, on the day I was leaving, still not packed.

It hit me, when I dropped off my son this morning. I had a long conversation with him, and a promise that I would speak to him everyday and tears in my eyes. That’s when I realized I was leaving and I got nothing done yet.

Three loads of laundry, brand new linen for my son, two luggages, one purse on hand, newly bleach blonde hair tied in a bun, glasses (not contacts), studded earrings, and jeans & a tee later, I’m on the Amtrak train, scared out of my mind because I finally understand, I am truly alone. This trip just confirms and prepares me for that.

I will be gone for 10 days, and I plan to make the most of these 10 days. The hardest part of it all, is leaving my son for this long.

I miss my wifey sooo much, and I’m glad I’m FINALLY getting the. Chance to be with her again.

If I don’t get to update my blog during my first adventure, stay tuned for my 15hour train ride BACK to NY on May 7th.

Until Next Time NY,
Nadyne…

