“You can have anything you want–if you want it badly enough. You can be anything you want to be, do anything you set out to accomplish if you hold to that desire with singleness of purpose.” – William Adams 
 

 

suc·cess [suh k-ses]  

–noun  

1. The favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors.

2. The attainment of wealth, position, honors, or the like.

 

 

ac·com·plish·ment [uh-kom-plish-muh nt]  

–noun

1. An act or instance of carrying into effect; fulfillment: the accomplishment of our desires.

2. Something done admirably or creditably:

Many people interpret success in many different ways. They often say that you need to have accomplished something and make it greater.

A few nights ago I went out, to hang out with a person I went to high school with. In high school me and him weren’t friends as so much, classmates. We had some classes together so we always said hi and bye to each other. Every once in a while we spoke to the same group of people, but he wasn’t someone that I actually KNEW in high school. But we decided to just hang out. Not going to lie, but I was a little nervous. I had no idea what we would talk about or how we would communicate. And I had the BEST time in a long time. We were catching up and getting to know each other. I think it felt pretty amazing because I was able to have a fresh start with someone I barely knew.

He was telling me about his family life, school life, and relationship life. And I felt that I was truly getting to know this person. And I was talking to him about my life as well. And anyone who knows me knows my biggest prides are my husband and my son.

My biggest struggle is my father.

I’ve gotten to know my father in a way that I’ve always dreamed of, and I feel that I have been truly blessed because of this. There are many people out there, who DON’T know a parent, and never get that opportunity to meet that parent. But I have been fortunate enough to meet him. Yes, it’s 22 years later, but hey,…better late than never right?

And this friend, which I never spoke to in high school, told me that I have an awesome life.

Now I don’t see it like that.

My life is so full of drama and complications and sometimes, it’s overwhelming. Sometimes I wish I could just escape in a little whole and just be by myself. I know this is not realistic, cuz I’m an adult. An adult with responsibilities! And as an adult with responsibilities, life doesn’t stop spinning because of the many obstacles that are thrown in my direction that I don’t WANT to handle.

There are many times I wish I could have given up on everything. Life was too hard, and I am just one person. But I kept going. And to me,…these don’t seem like accomplishments or even succeeding,…this is me moving on with life because I HAVE to.

I told him, just a summary of my life. My profession, my marriage, my family (old AND new) and my beliefs! And he just looked at me, with such awe. And I’m looking at him like he’s stupid. And he explained to me, that everything in my life was an accomplishment. Uhmmm no it’s not!!!! An accomplishment is an act of fulfillment; something done admirably or creditably.

I didn’t fulfill anything. I didn’t/don’t do anything admirable. I keep living and moving forward because I HAVE to. I work, because I have a family to support. I educate myself because I want to better life for my son. I pay bills and support my family because I HAVE to do all this stuff.

:::KNOCK IN HEAD:::

Do you realize how many people HAVE to do all these things, and DON’T? Do you realize how many people my age, with a family of their own still live and depend on their parents? Do you realize how many people, who are even older than me, don’t know what the future holds for them? Do you have ANY idea how many people my age have no idea what they want to do with their lives?

Here I am sitting and thinking that my life is just so dramatic (makes for good blogging though) and that my life is nothing. That I am living life the way I feel I have to, and it turns out, that my life is an accomplishment. My life is a success!!

My accomplishment in the test of life

  • good paying job at 18 (hotel)
  • gave birth to my son at 19
  • found a better job at 20 (currently still in this position)
  • got married at 20 (currently still married at 22)
  • a fire cannot break us
  • picked my family up from the fire
  • discovered my other half of my family
  • most of all, never let go of my faith

 

Never underestimate yourself; you’re worth more than you give yourself credit for.

 

Until Next Time

TTYL

